Traveling the Road of Uncertainty

 

 

Take a walk with me through the Garden of Eden. In it exists flowers of every type and color. The trees vary in height and width with beautifully colored leaves. Fruit trees are scattered among the land and one bite explodes with goodness. The vegetables are tasty and crisp beyond our imaginations. Every meal is satisfying and fulfilling all at once.

The water from the four rivers flowing out of Eden is pristine clear and satisfies any thirst. The smell of the air in Eden is a clean, fresh smell. The sun never burns your skin and the cold never causes frostbite.

Your’e always at peace and always at rest because there is no worry, no doubt, no fear in Eden.

In Eden, there is no separation from God. You walk and commune with Him daily. He knows your thoughts before one ever existed and He responds. He shares His secrets with you and calls you friend. You are His and He is yours.

Every desire you have, every wish you can think, God joyfully fulfills. Not because He has to. He does it because it is His desire for you. He prepared a place for you to ensure you’d have everything you need and to ensure your enjoyment. You are created for His glory and He wants to shower you with His love and loving-kindness.

Can you imagine what life was like for Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden? To never want for anything? Never having to work for anything? To never be separated from God, but always walk and talk with God?

The two of them really did have heaven on earth. Which makes me wonder, as so many of us have at some time in our life, why would they throw it all away?

I don’t have all of the answers, but the bible tells me Eve was deceived by Satan.

The trickery of deceit is that it causes one to travel the road of uncertainty and doubt. Eve was living  a life of fulfillment and she and Adam had “everything” their hearts could ever desire, but…

But, Satan deceived Eve in to believing that God had not already given her His best. She began to wonder if God was holding something back from her. She had everything, but the enemy convinced her there was more. More that God hadn’t shared with her. More that God wasn’t willing to give her. She was deceived into believing God was holding out on her.

Many assume Eve knew God’s Word about not eating from the tree in the center of the garden because her husband shared it with her. I agree. However, in Genesis 3, Eve tells the serpent “God said” not to eat from the one tree or you shall surely die, which leads me to believe God directly spoke to Eve about it.

So what caused the uncertainty? The uncertainty came when Satan asked Eve one simple question…”Did God really say you must not eat the fruit of any of the trees in the garden?”

In that one question, a seed of doubt and uncertainty was planted in the mind of Eve. Additionally, to seal the deal, Satan tells her “You won’t die” and the bible says Eve was convinced.

The road of uncertainty is a dangerous road to travel. Like Eve, we must unpack the truth of God’s Word and pack luggage filled with doubt and insecurity to travel on that road.

Eve bought into the biggest lie of the enemy. The lie that made her believe she isn’t who God says she is and she doesn’t have access to the fullness of God.

Satan hasn’t changed his tricks. He pulls out the same cards and plays the same hand with us.

Like Eve, we may start out quoting what “God said”, because we’ve read His Word and we’ve encountered His love for us throughout our lives at various times.

But, we listen to the enemy whispering to us…

“Did God really mean He would supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus?”

“Are you really an heir to the kingdom of God?”

“Are you really seated in heavenly places in Christ Jesus?”

“If you are an overcomer by  the blood, why didn’t you…?”

“If God really loves you, then why are you going through…?”

If you’ve ever heard these uncertainties whispered in your ear, your in good company.

The enemy tried to take our Savior, Jesus Christ, the Lord Almighty, down the same road of uncertainty. The difference is when Jesus quoted what “God said” in His Word, He held on to His confession and didn’t back down. Then He commanded the enemy to “get thee behind me Satan”.

God wants us to know that we are in this world, but not of this world. We are to believe we have everything we need already in Him. We are to live expecting miracles and blessings, decreeing and declaring His kingdom come, His will be done on earth in our lives as it is in heaven.

3 John 1:2 says “Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospers.

Ephesians 1:3 “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who hath blessed us with all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ Jesus.

He has given us the power to bind things on earth and they shall be bound in heaven as well as loose things on earth and they shall be loosed in heaven, according to Matthew 18:18.

The bible declares in John 4:17 as Christ is, so are we. Is Christ in heaven worrying about the bills, stressing about the job, stressing about the kids, loosing sleep. No! Therefore, confess as Christ is, so are you. He has no lack, deprivation, poverty, sickness or disease in His life. Neither do you or I if we choose to believe.

Again, the biggest trick of the enemy is to make believers doubt they have everything they need in God. The bible says that God knows what we have need of before we ask. Therefore, decree and declare the Word of God over your life. Like Jesus, don’t back down and don’t travel the road of uncertainty. Stand on God’s promises and watch circumstances begin to change in your life.

Testimony:  I was not meeting sales goals on my job as well as a few other team goals I needed to meet. My boss was very hard on me, sometimes to the point of being just plain mean and nasty, and she confessed to being a Christian. I began praying to the Lord and asking how can I be failing at this job. I’m a child of God and there should be no failure in me. I felt a rise in me that agreed with me and I also felt led to pray for my boss, my organization, and for my entire team. Then I looked up scriptures that indicated who I am in Christ and began reading, praying, and confessing those scriptures over my life. My sales doubled and I met all of my goals for the month.The icing on the cake is that I got hired for a new job as well. I am who God says I am and I have everything I need in Him already. Amen.

May God’s love overwhelm you,

Marilyn J.

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Traveling the Road of Uncertainty”

  1. Hi Marilyn! How fun to come and read you again. Love it!
    Oh yes, I hear the voice of the devil. He says I have nothing and no one and why do I even try? I am working on not listening so much, not getting caught up in it all. Why is it so easy to believe that garbage anyway?
    I like the idea of Eve not thinking that God has given her his best. What a wonderful concept! Thank you for that thought. I really like that. Of course he has! But in our smallness, we think we must have been passed over. How silly! Our Father treats us all with his love and grace.
    Tuesday blessings!
    Ceil

    1. Hi Ceil! I’m so glad you stopped by to read my post. Like you, I too find it easy to believe the “garbage” the enemy feeds me. We are all a work in progress.

      As you stated in your last blog post, God expects us to rise up to the bar. He’s not going to lower His standards and expectations of us. We must continue to go higher in Him and believe we are who God says we are. I’m sure He wonders, “oh ye of little faith”, like Jesus did with the disciples. So we are definitely in good company if he had to mention that to the disciples. There’s hope for us yet!
      Many blessings to you Ceil! 🙂

  2. Praise God for such a wonderful testimony Marilyn! When we trust Him He can help us accomplish so much more than we ever would have by our own efforts. Congratulations on the new job! May you continue to excel at both of them. Be blessed!

    1. Thank you Anna for reading my post and for congratulating me on my new job! It’s true, I’ve only accomplished those things in my testimony because I stopped using my own efforts and began trusting Him.
      Many blessings to you Anna! 🙂

  3. Beautiful post! While reading your post, Hebrews 12:2 popped up – “Keep your eyes on Jesus, who both began and finished this race we’re in.” I believe we can have a taste of “heaven on earth.” It takes daily practice for me to keep my eyes zoomed in on the word. The enemy is running out of time, so he’s trying hard to deceive the believers. We have to protect our anointing and exercise our authority.

    1. Hi Antoinette! I just want to thank you again for the encouraging emails and the tips you shared with me. I am forever grateful to you and I thank you for all of your support.

      I also believe we can experience heaven here on earth by exercising our authority. It’s so easy to get sidetracked and loose focus on the spiritual world and get caught up with the world we live in. We may live in this world, but our reality is the spiritual world, including the battles we fight.

      God bless you friend! 🙂

      1. Marilyn,
        You’re welcome! I know meeting you was a divine connection. I think it’s awesome how God will lay someone on your heart to pray for or speak a word of encouragement. God loves us! He has our best interest at heart. He knows what we need and when we need it – for that I’m grateful. Just know we have people across this nation that prays for us, and we’ve never formally met them. Awesome God!

      2. Antoinette, I agree that we have people across the nation praying for us and it’s one of the reasons I love the Christian blog community. We were definitely divinely connected! God knows what we need, Amen!

  4. Satan tempted Eve by telling her she would be “like God.” How different this story would have been had she left Satan and gone to the Lord and said “make me more like you.” How different would our stories be if we took all our desires to the Lord and ask Him to fulfill them in His way and with His life. Thanks for a thought-provoking post!

    1. So true Karen. I’ve found myself searching for ways to fulfill desires or needs instead of going directly to the Father. It causes so much stress and anxiety. Choosing to go to the Lord has tried me and tested my faith. However, in turn, it has caused me to strengthen my relationship with the Lord.
      Many blessings to you! 🙂

  5. Thank you for this wonderful testimony, Marilyn. It was moving to read both about the Garden of Eden, our uncertainty, God promises and your story. Thanks for sharing.

    I love your sentence: “Stand on God’s promises and watch circumstances begin to change in your life.”

  6. Thanks Marilyn . I enjoyed reading this and could I dentify with the way Christ works in our daily affairs. Keep up the beautiful writing and many blessings to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

