The Truth of God’s Love

lightstock_92135_medium_user_3127346

I was watching a movie last night on television when one of the main characters ignited a fire in me by the words he spoke.

Clark, the character I’m referring to, had suffered loss and life had dealt a fair share of other misfortunes that could have left him (or any human being) with a heart of unbelief.

While responding to a question of how he continues to believe in God through all his trials, Clark says

“The truth of God’s love is not that He allows bad things to happen. It’s His promise that He’ll be there with us when they do”.

Clark’s powerful statement rang a resounding “yes” in my soul.

It so struck a chord with my spirit that I asked if God was really speaking to me through the movie.

As I was studying this morning, I understood how powerful and damaging unbelief is to the one who chooses to give up on God during times of wilderness.

Times of wilderness may include the loss of a loved one, the loss of a job or home, times of financial struggles, difficulty in relationships, or whatever type of struggle one faces that challenges his/her belief in the Almighty God.

In Hebrews 3: 8, the Holy Spirit warns us not to harden our hearts as in the rebellion,

on the day of testing in the wilderness.

In verse 10, the Holy Spirit  goes on to say that He was grieved with that generation (the Israelites during their 40 years in the wilderness) and said they always go astray in their hearts, they have not known my ways.

Is it possible to give up on God in our hearts when our mouths say otherwise ?

Jeremiah 17:9 – 10 states “the heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked:  who can know it? I the Lord search the heart, I try the reins, even to give every man according to his ways, and according to the fruit of his doings.”

Hebrews 3:12 warns us to to “Take care, brothers, lest there be in any of you an evil, unbelieving heart, leading you to fall away from the living God.”

Can it be that if we have unbelief in our hearts then our hearts are considered to be evil?

After contemplating the word “unbelief'”, I thought of the many times I doubted God and wondered is doubt and unbelief the same thing.

According to Merriam Webster’s dictionary, doubt is:  to be uncertain about (something);  to believe that (something) may not be true or is unlikely;   to have no confidence in (someone or something).

Whoa!

Then I thought of doubting Thomas, the disciple who needed proof that Jesus was alive because he had to see Him for himself.

I don’t want to doubt God’s promises or His Word, ever!

I want to be like Clark, who also stated in the movie, that his daughter can fall down even when he’s walking right beside her.

But his daughter knows her father’s unconditional love for her will cause him to pick her up, heal her if she’s hurt, cry when she cries, and rejoices with her when she’s well.

The truth of God’s love is that through it all, God is right there with us.

Jehovah Shamma is one of His names, which means the One who promises to never leave us or forsake us.

Therefore, my prayer today is from the Psalms.

 “Create in me a clean heart, o God,  and renew a right spirit within me (Psalm 51:10) .”

“Search me, O God, and know my heart!
Try me and know my thoughts!
And see if there be any grievous way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting!” (Psalm 139: 23 -24)

May God’s love overwhelm you,

Marilyn J.

12 thoughts on “The Truth of God’s Love”

  1. Hi Marilyn! Wow.. this is a powerful word! This post is an encouragement and an echo of what the Holy Spirit has been saying to me recently about issues in our hearts, (having our hearts circumcised). So true, doubt and unbelief can be subtle but yet, they can steal so much from us. How we need to learn to trust God most especially in this troubled times! May the Lord help us. Thank you for this reminder! Blessings as always my sister 🙂

    1. Hi Shade! I agree. In these troubled times, we don’t have room or time for doubt and unbelief. We must choose to believe God at His Word at all cost. I’d rather He circumcise my heart now than allow doubt and unbelief to rob me of my relationship with Him and His promises for my life.
      God pour an abundance of love and favor on you today! Amen 🙂

  2. “how powerful and damaging unbelief is to the one who chooses to give up on God during times of wilderness.” Very powerful words! Faith that trusts only when we can see Him at work is no faith at all. Thank you, Marilyn!

    1. So true Karen. I’ve heard many times “just because you don’t see God does not mean He’s not working behind the scenes”.
      Thank you for stopping by.
      May blessings to you,
      Marilyn

  3. Inspiring words. It is true that one of the most harmful things we can do to ourselves is doubt God, and His goodness, and yet it is almost a default of human nature, even a nature redeemed by Christ. Seeing this, and recognizing this, is the first step to handing it back to God, with the plea, “Help me with this, please. You’re not the enemy, I know, but the enemy is trying to make me think that you are.”

    Poor Thomas. He did good things as well. And Peter regularly and consistently doubted Christ. The disciples are such a good visual to us of the fight that we all fight, and how we can’t win it on our own. Thank God, literally, for His patience!

    1. Amen Carolyn! I like the plea you stated in your comment. Also, thanks for pointing out the disciples who doubted Christ as well. Makes me realize Jesus was patient with them in when they had little faith.
      Many blessings to you Carolyn.
      Marilyn

  4. Thank you ma for this beautiful reminder. This post answers the question that has been in my spirit for weeks now. For 2weeks I have been struggling with accepting this verse: “I will never leave you nor forsake you” basically because I feel frustrated that my parents are now separated. I thought God had left us or maybe He wasn’t there at all. But I had to go back to my old post on unbelief and I learned that unbelief questions God’s integrity. Reading that old post only made me feel guilty, so I had to read your post over and over again till I began to feel a relief in my Spirit. God bless you for sharing.

    1. Gracious, I’m sorry to hear of your parent’s separation, but God is a miracle working God so continue to pray for your parents. I will pray for them as well. Don’t beat yourself up about unbelief, because as you know, condemnation is from the enemy. I had to deal with condemning myself also and told the enemy to shut his mouth. I pray for God’s peace and strength in you to comfort you during this time. In Jesus name, Amen!

  5. Marilyn,

    The challenges we face in life can become so tough, until some of us just feel like throwing in the towel. I can attest to that without any shame. However, I’ve discovered along my journey of test and trials that when I take ‘complete’ control over my emotions, I’m able to continue standing. As we continue to stand through the storm, it strengthen’s us and keeps us encouraged for the next faith fight. The enemy can’t stand it when we exercise our ‘authority.’ 🙂

    1. Antoinette,
      I absolutely agree with you about taking control of our emotions. The enemy knows that as women, we are sometimes controlled by our emotions. Therefore, he likes to see us get so caught up in our emotions that we can’t think correctly or pray. I tell myself all the time, out loud, that I’m not going to listen to my emotions because emotions don’t always tell the truth.

Leave a Reply

