Spring, The Season Of Renewal

Spring

Spring is here!  Although it may not feel like spring yet in many places, I am determined to acknowledge its existence every chance I get.

 I understand your wish for winter to move out of the area to make way for spring. I don’t like long winters either. I moved from the North to the South with expectations of enjoying early springs after living in many years of extremely long winters.

Spring is my first favorite season of choice and fall is my second.

I love watching everything bloom, especially this year because of the difficult winter we’ve had to endure. Despite the cold nights here in the Carolinas, I awaken to flowers blooming on the trees and on the ground and I am hopeful.

Spring resurrects life on earth in all of creation including mankind.

I imagine the flower in all of its determination and might, inching its way to the surface and bursting into the atmosphere, gasping for air as if it was holding its breath under ground all winter long. Its petals are raised in adoration and praise to God for being given another chance at life.

I hear the birds singing a sweet melody that resembles “good morning Jesus, good morning Jesus”.

The river is no longer hidden beneath the ice, but it glistens in the sun, sparkling and trickling a song of refreshment to God for its freedom in Him.

Joggers emerge from hibernation, embracing the sun and all of its glory, determined not to allow their bones to settle and become old.

The laughter of children playing has its own tune and melody, yet very familiar to every one who hears. Their laughter is like a new song to the God who created laughter.

I suppose I love spring so much because this season resembles me in some ways.

I remember the cross, Jesus’ shed blood, His death and I am overwhelmed by His love for me. As I celebrate His resurrection I am filled with anticipation of being like Him and really seeing Him as He is.

Like the flower that sprang up from the ground because it refused to die during the winter, I too refuse to die during the winters of my life and declare “O death where is thy sting? Oh grave where is thy victory?

Like the birds who sing a morning melody to Jesus, I too am reminded that there is  power in my praise and there’s power in my shout.

Like the river, I glisten in the Son because His love flows like a river from His heart to mine. It reminds me of my freedom in Him and is refreshing to my soul.

Like the joggers, I come out of hibernation and am awakened to embrace the Son and all of His glory, determined not to let my bones settle to complacency in God. Like Ezekiel prophesied to dead bones, I prophesy to dead dreams and visions because I am reminded that greater is King Jesus who is alive on the inside of me, than he that is in the world.

Therefore, I can do all things through Christ Jesus.

Like the children whose laughter fill neighborhoods, my laughter is familiar to my Lord and He remembers me. It is a form of worship to Him and a sweet melody to His ears.

Spring is amazing because its filled with new life, new hope, and new beginnings.

We can begin new eating plans, new exercise routines, and even practice having new mindsets by renewing our minds with the Word.

Seek the Lord in this season for something new.

Also, inquire to seek what is on His heart in this season. What can we agree in prayer with the Lord about today…our government, Israel, Ukraine, etc.

He may want you to spend some time fasting, ministering to others, etc.

To everything there is a season and a time to every purpose under heaven.

May God’s love overwhelm you,

Marilyn J.

16 thoughts on “Spring, The Season Of Renewal”

  1. A lovely reflection on season.. And I like what you said about asking God for His heart in this new season. It’s been a while, am glad to catch up with you. Remain blessed my sister! 🙂

  2. This is my first time here…it is a beautiful place to come and be refreshed by words that are as beautiful as rivers sparkling in the sunlight. May the Lord bless you as you continue to write for Him.

  3. Every season does have its beauty, and the sound of a bird singing its song stops me in my tracks. “Well, I haven’t heard that one in awhile.” Your description of the season is encouraging and beautiful, and reminds me to watch the changes that unfold, hourly, both off my front porch and in my life.

  4. Hi Marilyn! I had such a wonderful feeling of calm and peace reading your post today. What a beautiful, thoughtful reflection on Spring. I want to get right out and start walking outside myself. It snowed today where I live. Spring can’t come soon enough!

    There is power in your shout my friend. And thank you for ‘shouting’ to us today 🙂
    Ceil

    1. Hi Ceil! I’m so glad you enjoyed reading my post. Thank you for such faithful support of my blog. There’s power in your shout as well. May the God of all praise bless you richly!

  5. I personally enjoy the different seasons because it’s a reminder about the different things I will face in life. Nothing stays the same, everything should grow; however, it may not be a reality to those who choose to ignore which season they may be in at the time. The things of God are alive and constantly revolving. It’s up to us to discern where we are in different seasons.

    This is a friendly reminder NOT to get stuck in one season. It’s the will of God for His children to be blessed.

    1. Hi Antoinette, you are so right about not ignoring the season we may be in and the ability to discern our seasons. Staying in constant communication with the Father teaches us how to respond to each season of our lives. Thanks for your support and for commenting. May God bless you richly!

Leave a Reply

