Being single is not a disease!

I wrote this post some time ago, but thought it’s message is relevant to the upcoming Valentine’s Day. As Singles, we sometimes feel ignored during this holiday. However, rejection is a lie from the enemy. We are not rejected, but accepted in the Beloved!
In fact, I believe we have the right to enjoy this holiday as much as anyone else. Buy yourself some chocolates, get a mani-pedi, order a special dinner and light some candles, or hang out with your girlfriends.
Whatever this weekend brings, choose to do something special for YOU.
We have to ensure we celebrate ourselves at every opportunity, because our Father does.
Yep! The bible says in Zephaniah 3:17 (NLT) “For the Lord your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.”
If the Father is rejoicing and singing over us, then why shouldn’t we do the same? View this Valentine’s Day as a gift from God. He is our special Valentine and our First Love. The bible even calls Him our Husband (Isaiah 54:5)! Amen!
Happy Valentine’s Day!
As always, may His love overwhelm you!

Living Grace

Singleness is not a disease

Have you ever had people approach your singleness as if you were diseased?

I’ve heard it all.  People give me the once-over look as if to say “she looks okay, so why is she still single?”.  I’ve been told that something must be wrong with me or I must be doing something wrong.  Yet others have noted that I seem to have my “act together” but the state of my singleness leaves them puzzled in their minds like a mystery that needs to be solved.

View original post 722 more words

4 thoughts on “Being single is not a disease!”

  1. I just got off the phone talking with someone who was concerned that she was “cheap,” because she wasn’t buying gifts for her significant other. “Everyone else is doing it, and I feel as if I should.” I mentioned to her that if this is the only reason she could think for doing something, then she shouldn’t be doing it, and a severe lack of finances at this point in her life was a good reason to find a creative way to celebrate the holiday.

    It’s a marketer’s dream, Valentine’s Day, and they have turned it into a day that many people dread, because they don’t fit the paradigms. For this reason, we have always celebrated Valentines as the day to show the people we love — ALL the people we love — that we love them. It’s not Sweetheart’s Day, it’s I love you, special person — Mom, Dad, Bro, Sis, Neighbor, Best Friend — day, and as many people as we can gather together to eat dinner together, we do. Those we can’t see, we call, message, or write.

    I wish you a beautiful and memorable Valentine’s Day, one in which you realize how many beautiful people are in your life, all sweethearts in their own unique way.

    1. You are absolutely right. Along with the pressures to have a Valentine comes the pressure of marketing and advertising. I’m glad you celebrated Valentine’s Day the way you wanted. I spent it with my granddaughter and we had a blast. Thanks and God bless you!

  2. The beautiful thing about being single is I get to discover everything I’m called to do concerning my purpose and destiny. I’m often asked, “why am I single” and it’s really my choice to explore my calling and identity.

    1. Antoinette, I like how you made a choice, a conscious decision not to waste your singleness and instead discover your purpose and who you are in Him. Amen sis! God bless you!

Leave a Reply

