Tune-in Tuesday: Francesca Battistelli’s “This Is The Stuff”

lightstock_102514_medium_user_3127346Have you ever given yourself the okay to just let things go?  I have.

Especially when I’m driving in the car in my town.  Sometimes, I think I’m the only person on the road who actually knows how to drive.

If there is a little space between me and the car in front of me, it’s as if some of these drivers have to fill the gap.

What drives a person to want to fill that gap?  It’s not a game to see who can squeeze into the smallest space between two cars!

During these episodes, I feel my blood beginning to boil and then a get a nice reminder of how I used to have terrible road rage in my past.

And I say to myself, “let it go, Marilyn”.  It’s not worth it.

Because to be totally honest with you, the old Marilyn, the before I got saved Marilyn, would have laid on her horn and probably tail-gated the person for a little while.

Looking back, I probably  bought my nice, sweet “Jesus Is Lord” car emblem on purpose to remind myself that I am His and need to represent Him well.

Now, I look back on those years in utter disbelief that I behaved that way.

I think about how crazy this world is today and how someone could have killed me for my retaliatory behavior and actions.

But I thank God for keeping me.  Keeping me safe from harm and for teaching me patience.

I volunteer at a Pregnancy Resource Center every Tuesday.  Today, I was running a little late because my hair didn’t turn out the way I planned and I had to do a quick fix to make it look presentable.

As I’m driving down the road, I’m thinking to myself “doesn’t anybody know how to put their foot on the gas pedal…the pedal on the right means go”.

Immediately, a still small voice said to me “Marilyn, you’re the one running late.  They are not in a hurry.  You are.”

Instantly, I repented for my thoughts and decided to relax and be patient.

You see, the place where I volunteer, the people are so warm and loving and kind.  It doesn’t matter to them that I’m a few minutes late, because they are always so grateful to have me there.

They pray for all the volunteers and I sense their love for us whenever I enter the building.

However, I’m determined not to be late again, because I’m serving the Lord when I walk through the Center’s doors.

I’m helping to save unborn babies lives.  Therefore, it’s important to me and to God that I respectfully be there on time, when scheduled.

When I think about all of that:  God keeping me, teaching me patience and to respect time, serving Him by volunteering at a place that pours love into women and their unborn children, it all comes into perspective for me.

As a result, I chose the song titled “This Is The Stuff” by Francesca Battistelli.

Her song speaks of how in life, things happen.  Life happens.  However, God uses all of the stuff we go through to build us, teach us, make us stronger, wiser, and patient.

The song has a fun tune to it and will probably make you laugh if you really listen to the words.

It’s my “go to” when I have to look at every day life and all the little mishaps and decide to let it go.  The song makes me also laugh at life at times.

Ultimately, God is refining me, teaching me, and purifying me.

It’s all a part of His plan.

And when He’s done, I will come forth as pure gold (Job 23:10).

Please click on the link here to enjoy the song.

Maybe it will become one of your favorites as well.

May His love overwhelm you,

Marilyn J.

10 thoughts on “Tune-in Tuesday: Francesca Battistelli’s “This Is The Stuff””

  1. Thank you for this beautiful reminder!! Have a great week Marilyn xx 🙂

    P.S. sorry your like button is not working for me and i miss out on the music, Just can’t find the link on your blog (smile)

  2. You rock Marilyn,

    I love that song! You are so right — as I sit here typing this to you I’m listening to it!!! Hahahahah!! We need a good laugh in this world of ours! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

