Tune-in Tuesdays: “Mary Did You Know” by Vanessa Bell Armstrong

Mary Did You Know?

Yesterday, the History Channel replayed “The Bible” series.  The series had originally aired March 3 through Easter Sunday (March 31) of this year.

Once again, I was captivated by the events of the bible being so dynamically played out on my television screen.

Unfortunately, I could not sit and watch the series all day because I had a schedule to adhere to for the day.  As I was preparing to leave the house, the scene where Mary tries to explain to Joseph that her pregnancy was “God’s work” was playing.

My mind switched to how my name, Marilyn, is a derivative of the name Mary.  Mary (and Marilyn) means “exalted of God” and also “beloved of God”.

Such a perfect name for the mother of Jesus!

Throughout the day, I thought of what it would have been like to be the mother of Jesus.

How does a mother respond to a child who will someday be the Savior of not only the world, but her as well?

Does she become overwhelmed with humility to have been the vessel God chose to carry such a magnificent gift to the world? I’m sure she did.

When I was pregnant with my children, I loved to talk to them.  Can you imagine the conversation Mary must have had with Jesus while he grew on the inside of her tummy?

“You are the Messiah; the living God, moving and breathing on the inside of me.”

Whew!  Gives me goosebumps just imagining Jesus Almighty living on the inside of me.

But wait!

He is the Messiah; the living God, moving and breathing on the inside of me…today!

The difference is Mary knew her Son was born to die.

He would die to save the souls of all of humanity.

There is a scene in the movie where Mary follows Jesus to Calvary.  She looks on as her Son is beaten, tormented, and nailed to a cross.

My heart is heavy for Mary.

His years of playing in the sand, following her to the well to draw water, and watching him help Joseph make furniture to sell to the townsmen are suddenly flashing before her eyes.

She remembers His kicks, changing His diapers, and bathing Him all in a flash.  Now, he’s stripped naked, his clothes sold for money, and he’s bleeding from every inch of His body while His body is nailed to a cross.

And she can’t do anything to save Him.

She knows this is the will of God for her Son’s life.

It’s no wonder her name means “exalted/beloved of God”.  God didn’t make a mistake when He chose Mary to be Jesus’ earthly mother.

I reflect on how our names are similar and I wonder, could I have been Mary and endured the weight of having a Savior born to me, but then watch Him die?

I don’t know if I’m that strong.

So today I’m grateful to Mary, because God could have chosen any vessel, but He chose her.

Please take time to listen to Vanessa Bell Armstrong sing her version of “Mary Did You Know” here.

May His love overwhelm you,

Marilyn J.

10 thoughts on “Tune-in Tuesdays: “Mary Did You Know” by Vanessa Bell Armstrong”

  1. Marilyn, this is a powerful thought to think about. God reveals our ‘endings’ at the ‘beginning.’ Meaning, He’ll show us what will take place in the future and we have to walk out the process.

    The beautiful part is we don’t have to walk alone because the greater one lives inside of us. Oh my goodness, I feel like preaching…:-)

    He know the beginning, in-between, and ending. However, to many people give up in the middle. Good word, glory!

  2. Awesome word! What a blessings, so much to meditate and reflect on. This post has just sealed the confirmation for the urge in me to study about the favor of God, and i think a great place to start is with the life of Mary. Marilyn thank you so much for this word 🙂 May the favor of God be a greater reality to you in 2014. Blessings and more to you! 🙂

    1. Shade, I’m glad the post confirmed your study on the favor of God. Thank you for the encouraging words and blessings for the new year. I pray God reciprocate the same and more to you dear friend! 🙂

  3. It’s after christmas but never too late to meditate on the incarnation. Love the reminder that “He is the Messiah; the living God, moving and breathing on the inside of me…today!” Changes the way I think about Mary and how it relates to all believers. thanks!

  4. Hi Marilyn! May God’s love overwhelm you my friend. Of course you could have carried Our Lord, God will equip you for his will always. I love that you found out that your name and Mary’s name are so connected. I know she thinks of you as her child too.

    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and New Years celebration too. May 2015 be a year of favor from our God for you and yours,
    Ceil

Leave a Reply

