Getting the most out of Living Single (Pt. 2)

The-thief-comes-only-in

In Part 1 of this article, I gave a background of the lies the enemy likes to portray to single women. If you haven’t read Part 1 click on the hyperlink above to go directly to it.

Also, I gave a little background of how complacent my life had become once I decided to live a single life devoted to God.  I prayed to God asking Him to allow me to enjoy living single.

God did just that.  He provided a couple close friends and provided the means for me to enjoy doing things on my own as well. But first I had to release all the fears and doubts that were holding me back.

Give yourself a heart check

First, I should tell you that the most important way to be content and enjoy your life as a single woman is to give yourself a heart check.  By that, I mean to search your heart and really think about what makes you the most uncomfortable about being single?

Is it being lonely? Or how others will perceive you?  Perhaps it’s pressure from your friends who are dating or even married. Is it fear of doing activities alone?

Once you’ve identified those fears, write  them in a journal or notebook. This step has been critical in my own life because it has helped me to evaluate and process my feelings better. Sometimes it helps me to validate the emotion or dismiss it when I realize that it’s not as big of a deal as I’ve made it out to be in my head.

Give it all to God

After you’ve written those fears, emotions, and doubts on paper, give them all to God.

The bible tells us in Matt 11:28-30 that we can exchange our fears, doubts, etc. for God’s peace. Additionally 2Tim 1:7 tells us that the fears are not of God. But he has given us power, love, and a sound mind (a mind at peace, a content mind).

Finally, pray a prayer to God to release the fears:  Father I release all fears, all doubts, all emotional bondages that are preventing me from living the best life in you while single. I thank you that you desire above all things that I prosper in every area of my life and be in good health, mentally, physically, and emotionally, even as my soul prospers. I ask that you identify any hidden fears and remove those from my life as well. In Jesus Mighty Name, Amen.

Three keys to keep in mind:

1) Rid yourself of fears and perceptions. Do not concern yourself of what others may think of you.  Singles can learn to live full lives.

2) Enjoying the single life does not mean you’re giving up hope of ever getting married. The majority of people reading this is in a season of singleness.  So why not get the most out of this season of your life? Marriage is not a cure-all for happiness.  I was married for 9 years so I’m speaking from experience. Consequently, being a complete person before marriage will only help you and your spouse. Couples can draw from their experiences while single to share with each other during marriage.

3) You do not have to be rich to enjoy life while single. As I stated before in Part 1 of this series, I am very frugal. I don’t believe in wasting excessive amounts of money on activities.  It’s unnecessary and will result in being financially and emotionally drained.  Additionally, poor money management may delay marriage, because no man wants a spouse who may be a financial burden. Therefore, all of the tips I provide are also ways to get the most from spending the least.

Now that we got the messy stuff out of our lives, we are free to enjoy life.

In Part 3 of this series, I will discuss practical ways of getting the most out of living single by finding exciting ways to have fun while saving money, attending local activities, organizing girls night, movie night, etc.  Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

