My “Aha” Moment!

aha-moment

Do you remember your Aha Moments?

Usually during my aha moments, I literally say out loud, whether there’s someone in the room or not, “I just had an Aha moment!”  I’m sort of weird that way.  During my dating days, boy, did I have many moments like that.  However, because I was “so into him”, I chose to follow my emotions and ignore my heart.  Oh don’t act like you haven’t been there!

How many times did you say to yourself now would be a good time to get out of this relationship?

Disclaimer:  For those of you who are in wonderful relationships, otherwise known as “happily found”, this message is not for you.  I pray you will soon be walking down the aisle to spend the rest of your lives with the man God has for you.

For the rest of us, if you know in your heart that your dating relationships were outside of God’s will for your life, you probably have thought a time or two (or more if you’re like me), it’s time for me to go.

In the beginning, things were probably nice, like always.  Then you began to notice some things, but you tell yourself it’s not that big of a deal.  You have thoughts of you being too picky and that you may end up all alone if you continue to sweat the small stuff.  Eventually you decide it’s worth hanging in there because he just may be the one to marry you.  And you stay as long as you can.  Suddenly, your inner voice is yelling at you as loud as the police when they bang on the door of a house that’s being raided…”Get out of that relationship while you still have some sanity!”.

Have you heard the bible story of the young man who had an Aha moment?

In Luke 15 Jesus told the story of a prodigal son who wanted his inheritance sooner rather than later and asked his father for his portion.  Once the father gave him his portion, the son left home and spent all of his inheritance until he had nothing left.  His disrespect for his father’s love resulted in him being completely broke, the only work he could find was feeding pigs, and he was so hungry that he ate the same slop the pigs were eating.

There is a saying “if you lie down with pigs, you wake up full of dirt”.

The bible says that the young man “came to himself”!   He had an Aha moment!

Meaning he recognized that his father had everything he needed. So why was he eating from the pigs trough?

He returned to his father and said “Father, I have sinned against heaven and against thee”.  Then he asked his father for forgiveness.

Like the prodigal son who returned home to his father, I too repented and returned to Jesus, broken, dirty, and at the end of myself.  I had spent too many years showing disrespect for my Father’s love for me instead of waiting for His best.

But the story doesn’t end there!

When the prodigal son returned home to his father, it was as if he had never left. The father asked the servants to clothe him in the best robe, put a ring on his finger, and shoes to put on his feet. In addition, the father called for a great feast to celebrate his son’s return home.

Two scriptures come to mind when I think of how great our Father’s love is for us.

Isaiah 61:10 (AMP) states “I will greatly rejoice in the Lord, my soul will exult in my God; for He has clothed me with the garments of salvation, He has covered me with the robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decks himself with a garland, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels”.

Isaiah 1:18 & 19 (AMP) “Come now, and let us reason together, says the Lord. Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall be like wool. 19 If you are willing and obedient, you shall eat the good of the land.”

In comparison, I came to myself and had an Aha moment as well. I thought to myself “why am I settling for relationships that aren’t Godly and makes me feel hurtful and shameful?  I felt the Lord leading me back to Him.  He forgave me of my sins and cleansed me from all unrighteousness, guilt, and shame. In return, He clothed me with a robe of righteousness and washed me white as snow.

I no longer wait for a man to put a ring on my finger as a sign of commitment. In return, Jesus let me know that He is my Husband (Jeremiah 3:14) and my First Love and that He is committed to me (Revelation 2:4).

As for my feet, He said that He is Jehovah Rohi, My Shepherd, who leads and guides me in the right paths of life for His name’s sake. (Psalms 23:3).

I absolutely love the last part of that verse…for His name’s sake.  When a woman gets married, normally she takes on her husband’s last name.

It symbolizes the husband as being the wife’s covering. When the wife signs her married name to anything, she’s essentially signing under her covered name.

When my Lord leads my life, it’s for His name sake because I have come under His covering.  He gets the glory for leading me in the paths of righteousness, not me.  I am His and I have taken on His name.

Do you trust the Lord enough to wait?
Do you want what you think you are supposed to have in a man now or do you want God’s best for you?
Are you settling for less?

If your answer is yes to any of these questions, then know that you have a Father in heaven who wants to reason with you to return your heart back to Him.  He is drawing you with an everlasting love to return to Him.

You don’t have to live your life scraping the leftovers from the enemies table.  Accepting any man that comes your way.

Come and dine at the Father’s table and you will hunger and thirst no more.

The woman that Jesus met at the well was so filled that she left her water pots at the well because He filled the void that she tried to fill with the different men she had allowed into her heart.

Are you looking for Mr. Right only to find that he only wants to be Mr. Right Now in your life?

May I suggest that you Stop Looking!

The bible says that He that finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favour of the Lord (Proverbs 18:22).

Are you just waiting to be found?

I hear women all the time who say they are waiting on their husband to find them to help pay their bills, help take care of their children, to buy them a home, etc.

Take a look with me at a couple of the women in the bible. They weren’t just waiting.  They were busy living life.  Rebekah was found busy at the well drawing water.  Ruth was busy working in Boaz’s fields when he found her.

During this time of singleness buy your own home, find a hobby, write that great business proposal you’ve always wanted to write.  Better yet, start a blog or write a book.

While dating, I made a point to spend as much time as possible with my date to express how much I cared for him.  I spent time talking and texting on the phone, going out to dinner, watching movies, as well as other activities to make a connection with my date.

Now, I try to make a point to put just as much energy in strengthening my relationship with Christ.

I challenge you to spend time with Jesus and cultivate your relationship with Him.

When you rise in the morning, tell Him how thankful you are for His love, His mercy, His grace and ask Him to lead and guide you in the paths of righteousness for the day.  Asks Him to show you what He wants you to do for Him today?

Be open to hear and receive from the Lord daily.

He invites us to come dine with him (John 21:12), so why not?  Spend time in His word.  Find a scripture about His love and chew (meditate) on it for the day.

Throughout the day, express to Him how much you love him.

Before you fall asleep at night thank Him for the day you had and ask Him to fill you with visions and dreams during the night.

By returning your heart back to the Lord, you will learn to be content in your singleness.  By cultivating a relationship with Christ, If/when God blesses you with a husband, you will know what love is really supposed to be like because you will have spent time in love with Christ.

I brag on Christ’s love for me because there is none greater!  He takes good care of me!  He opens doors (not car doors like a date) for me that no man can shut.  He showers me with blessings.  And He loves to surprise me.  Nothing compares to the love of Christ!

And most of all, I can trust Him with my heart.

Trust Jesus with your heart.  I promise he won’t break it.

In His Love,
Marilyn

2 thoughts on “My “Aha” Moment!”

  1. Thanks for the revelation and anointing of the Holy Spirit. This was another great delivery from God’s heart. You go Miss GX(Gods’ Xpress) making God’s EXpress deliveries from heaven.

Leave a Reply

