#SayWhat

This post is in response to a bible study at Proverbs 31 Ministries.

One very distinct #SayWhat moment for me was my move to NC.   I was happily raising my 3 children in a small town in Midland, MI.  I had been divorced for some time then and had found a decent-paying job with the government that offered great benefits for me and my children.  My parenting relationship with my ex-husband was at its peak and we were committed to raising our children together on the same accord.  My home was only 2 years old and I loved the fresh, still-new smell every time I entered the door.  Although my new church home was in a city about 20 miles from my home,  I felt at home with the people and the pastor and was learning more than I ever had in all my years as a Christian.  I had released shame of not being baptized at a young age, and I took the plunge in Jesus…out with the old, in with the new.  New job, new house, new church home…new life! I had finally felt like I had a handle on life and things were going pretty well for me and my children.

Then I visited Charlotte, NC to attend a cousins wedding. While there, my brother suggested we visit a church he had heard about that had an awesome prophetic ministry and relevant teaching on the moves of God.  I agreed to attend.  The praise and worship was nothing like I had ever experienced. It was a mixture of awe-inspiring pure teary-eyed worship to down right dancing, spinning, and jumping praise.  I loved it!  The message was just as good as the worship.  However, it was the words of prophecy (encouragement) that I received after the service that put a hook in my jaw.  The words given revealed some things that were in my heart at the time that only God knew.  It also told of how they seen me moving. SayWhat Honestly, I was a bit skeptical about the move part.  I thought to myself, my life is so good right now, why would I want to move?  I tucked the thought away and life resumed as normal. 

Almost a year later, I decided I wanted to attend a women’s conference at the church I had attended while in Charlotte.  I packed up my vehicle, drove 2+ hours to Toledo, OH to pick up my sister, and drove another 9+ hours to Charlotte.  The conference ran for 3 days and each meeting was totally AWESOME!  But one thing kept nudging me and that was a strong feeling that I was supposed to move to Charlotte.  In Lysa Terkeurst’s book “What Happens When Women Say Yes to God”, she provides 5 questions to ask yourself to be certain what you are hearing/sensing in your spirit is from God.  One of the questions to ask is: Is what I’m hearing being confirmed through other messages, at church, during my study time, etc?  I heard it the entire time while at the conference and it didn’t leave me when I returned home.  Suddenly, a notice was posted in my break room at work for an opportunity to transfer to Charlotte within my organization….#SayWhat!  God is so amazing!  The message was so clear, it dumbfounded me for a minute and I had to get myself together.

God began opening up doors for me and closed some others.  My comfortable job suddenly became very uncomfortable for me and I knew, like a baby bird being forced out of the nest, it was time for me to go.  Needless to say, a little over a month later,  I said Yes to God,  packed everything,  and moved to Charlotte in May of 2006.  It was a scary, but very rewarding move.  I’ve had some times when I didn’t follow God on this journey and ended up on some dead end roads.  I’m currently at a crossroad where I’m going through a checklist to see if what I’m hearing is from God.  If so, it will be another big change in my life and will require me to totally trust God, once again. It’s funny that while I’m typing, the song You Have Me by Israel Houghton is in my head and the lyrics say “He will take care of me”.  Yes God!
To watch Israel’s video click on the link above.  It will bless you!

Blessings,
Marilyn J.

#SayWhat
#PalmsUp
#SayYesToGod

 

2 thoughts on “#SayWhat”

Leave a Reply

